Monday, May 13, 2013

Review & Giveaway: Blood Drama By Christopher Meeks

Book Description:

Publisher: White Whiskers Press  (June 15, 2013)
Category: Mystery/Thriller/Suspense, Crime Thriller
Tour Date: Mid May- Mid June, 2013
Available in: Print &  eBook, 242 pages

Everyone has a bad day. Graduate student Ian Nash has lost his girlfriend in addition to being dropped from a Ph.D. program in theater at a Southern California university. When he stops at a local coffee shop in the lobby of a bank to apply for a job, the proverbial organic matter hits the fan. A gang of four robs the bank, and things get bloody. Ian is taken hostage by the robbers when the police show up. Now he has to save his life.

FBI Special Agent Aleece Medina’s analysis of the bloody bank heist drives her into the pursuit of a robbery gang headed by two women. She doesn't anticipate how this robbery will pit her against both the bandits and the male higher-ups in the FBI while the media heats up during a giant manhunt.

The robbers are about to kill Ian, and all he has at hand is his knowledge of the stage.

My Thoughts:

This is the third book I have read of Christopher Meeks and consider myself a big fan of his work.  The first two books of his that I read were, The Brightest Moon of the Century and Love At Absolute Zero.  Both are literary fiction with some smart romance and biting humor.  The characters in both are quirky.  I love quirky characters and biting humor.

When Christopher told me about his new book, Blood Drama, I wasn't sure what to expect. It a crime mystery thriller, not a genre  I typically read.  However, as a fan, I wanted to give it a try.

Blood Drama delivered!  It is full of the quirky characters, I've come to expect from Meeks, especially the lead character, Ian Nash.   It is fresh and has the biting humor I also expect from him.  The book is well written and researched and flows well.  It takes place in California, Minnesota, and Winnipeg.  Since I grew up in Minnesota, I am familiar with all of the cities and some of the landmarks mentioned.  I always find that a fun aspect of a book when I am so familiar with the location.  I can certainly vouch for the authenticity of Meeks representation of Minnesota.   

The crime/mystery is easy going and not heavy handed.  IMO, the ending is pretty predictable but I enjoyed it despite that.  With Blood Drama, Christopher Meeks has proved to me that he can successfully cross genres and still entertain.  Highly recommended!

4.5/5

I received this book for my honest opinion.

About Christopher Meeks:


Christopher Meeks first published short fiction in a number of literary journals, and the stories are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. Recently, he’s focused on novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century is a story of a man who yearns for love and success, covering over thirty years—a tale that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as “a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving.” His last novel, Love At Absolute Zero, is about a physicist who uses the tools of science to find his soul mate–and he has just three days. Critic Grady Harp calls the book “a gift.” The new novel, Blood Drama, has him edge into a thriller. Meeks also runs White Whisker Books and publishes four authors.

Christopher at the Red Room: http://redroom.com/member/christopher-meeks
Christopher’s Website www.chrismeeks.com


Thanks to Christopher Meeks, one winner will receive a copy of Blood Drama. This giveaway is open internationally.  If the winner live in Canada or the U.S. there is a choice of print or ebook.  If the winner is international, s/he will receive an ebook.  Please use Rafflecopter to enter.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour: 
So Many Precious Books May 13 Review & Giveaway
Books, Books & More Books May 14 Review
Books, Books & More Books May 15 Interview
Alive on the Shelves May 16 Review
Ordinary Girls May 17 Review
DWED Blog May 20 Review
DWED Blog May 21 Interview
She Treads Softly May 22 Review
Darlene’s Book Nook May 24th  Interview &Giveaway
OmniMyMystery June 6 Interview
Green Mountain May 27 Review
Book Lover’s Library May 28 Review
Book Lover’s Library May 29 Interview & Giveaway
Hezzi D’s Books & Cooks June 3 Review
Celtic Lady June 4 Interview
Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews June 10 Review
Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews June 11 Interview
I’d Rather be at the Beach June 12 Review & Giveaway
Self Taught Cook June 14 Review
Wormhole June 17 Review
Raging Bibliomania June 18 Review
Wormhole June 18 Interview & Giveaway



11 comments:

Sounds like a good read.

Interesting. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

This sounds like a very interesting story. One that I would love to read.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

I love mysteries and thrillers and this sounds like one I would enjoy!

Looks fascinating. I'm interested in the Minnesota connection of this book. Thanks for the giveaway.
mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

Looking forward to hosting you :)

This book sure sounds different, a robbery gang headed by two women. Sounds like an amazing read. I would love to read this one. Thanks for this chance.

ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

Looks like a good read. I've been in a rut lately reading non-fiction. So, this would be a welcome change.
Thanks for the giveaway!

I certainly like quirky characters. Thanks for the heads up!
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

This sounds like a very interesting book. Would love to read more.

carolynvaldez51@yahoo.com

I liked this book.

Post a Comment

Newer Post Older Post Home